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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 2018‐2019 REGISTRATION FORM AND 
CPE REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2018 

Applicable changes in Board laws and rules have been incorporated into these instructions; 
You are encouraged to read all instructions since there are several changes. 

**It is the responsibility of the CPA and PA to register timely, regardless of whether he or she receives the Board’s courtesy reminder(s)** 

ANNUAL REGISTRATION:  All Alabama CPAs and PAs are required by the Alabama Accountancy Law (Title 34, Chapter 1, Code 
of Alabama 1975) to register annually with the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (“the Board”).  The only exception 
is for licensees who have elected retired status previously.  The link to the on‐line registration form can be found on the 
Board’s website at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov.  Instructions for on‐line registration are provided at every step.  All major 
credit cards (Visa, MC, AmEx, and Discover) can be used for on‐line payment!   If registration is done through the internet‐
based procedure, the paper form should NOT be mailed to the Board.  Do not register on‐line if this is your initial registration.  
Please print the registration form and mail it with the appropriate registration fee.  If you choose to register manually, you may 
print the 2018‐2019 Registration Form from the Board’s web site, complete it, and return with a check or money order made 
payable to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy in the amount of $100.00 for active status or $50.00 for inactive 
status. 

Active Status.  CPAs and PAs practicing public accounting in Alabama must obtain an annual permit to practice (active 
status).  The experience required to qualify initially for a permit to practice is one year of public accounting or two years in a 
qualifying accounting position in industry, business, government or college teaching.  Your experience must be verified in 
writing and sent to the Board office by your employer(s).  Upon completion and verification of the required experience, you 
may apply for your initial permit to practice.  A $100.00 fee for an annual permit to practice, whether initial or renewal, must 
be submitted to the Board along with the 2018‐2019 Registration Form.  Continuing Professional Education (CPE) is required 
for active status and must be reported on the 2018‐2019 Registration Form in the section entitled “Continuing Professional 
Education (CPE) Reporting for the Fiscal Year Ended September 30, 2018.”  Further details on reporting CPE are on the second 
page of these instructions. 

Inactive Status.  CPAs and PAs who do not desire an annual permit to practice public accounting (those electing 
inactive status) or those who are otherwise ineligible for an annual permit must also register with the Board annually.  A 
$50.00 fee is required along with the 2018‐2019 Registration Form for inactive status.  CPAs and PAs who are on inactive status 
must place the word “inactive” adjacent to their CPA or PA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other document or 
device, except for their CPA or PA certificate, on which their CPA or PA title appears.  If a CPA or PA on inactive status desires to 
return to active status, he or she must apply for an annual permit to practice with proof that 40 hours of CPE were obtained for 
each fiscal year of inactive status, not to exceed 120 hours of CPE.  Fifty percent of the hours must be in accounting and 
auditing courses; 25 percent of the hours must be in tax courses; and all the hours must be obtained during the three‐year 
period preceding the date of the request for an annual permit to practice.  No more than one‐half of the hours can be in self‐
study courses. A CPE catch‐up form can be found at www.asbpa.alabama.gov. 

Retired Status.  CPAs and PAs who are eligible may elect retired status on the 2018‐2019 Registration Form with no fee 
requirement.  Retired status is defined as a licensee who has reached age 55 and is no longer performing any of the duties of 
public accounting, including, but not limited to, tax return preparation and management advisory services.  CPAs and PAs who 
elect retired status must place the word “retired” adjacent to their CPA or PA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other 
document or device, except for their CPA or PA certificate, on which their CPA or PA title appears. 

The 2018‐2019 registration and appropriate fee are due in the Board office on October 1, 2018; however, the rules do provide 
a grace period for filing timely through December 31, 2018.  This grace period applies only to submission of the completed 



registrations.  CPE must be earned during the fiscal year and completed by September 30, 2018.  Please note that only the last 
four digits of your Social Security number are required.  All registration forms completed manually, and appropriate fees 
should be mailed to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy, PO Box 300375, Montgomery, Alabama 36130‐0375.  

DELINQUENT STATUS:  Registrations submitted online or postmarked after December 31, 2018 are considered delinquent.  A 
$100.00 penalty is due for registrations submitted from January 1, 2019 through February 28, 2019.  The penalty increases to 
$500.00 for registrations submitted on or after March 1, 2019.  On April 1, 2019 disciplinary actions ensue for unpaid fees and 
penalties; therefore, you are encouraged to file as near the October 1, 2018 due date as possible. 

IRS PREPARER TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (PTIN):  Please provide your active PTIN. 

ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY (ASBPA) FIRM NAME:  Please provide your firm name. 

CPE REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2018:  Alabama CPAs and PAs who hold an annual permit to 
practice (active status) must complete 40 hours of acceptable CPE during the fiscal year that began on October 1, 2017 and 
ended on September 30, 2018.  At least eight hours must be in accounting and auditing, and no more than eight hours in 
behavioral courses will be accepted.  Other maximum limits include 20 hours a year for self‐study, 10 hours for publications 
authored, and eight hours for technical sessions at professional meetings.  All CPE courses must be at least 1 hour in length.  
CPE hours may not be carried over.  CPE completion records should be retained for a minimum of five fiscal years.  No CPE 
hours are required this reporting period for CPAs certified and/or licensed after October 1, 2017.  If you cannot meet the CPE 
requirements by September 30, 2018, due to reasonable cause, please contact the Board office to formalize a CPE completion 
schedule. 

There are three categories for detailing the CPE that you completed for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2018: 
Professional Development Programs, Seminars, Live Webinars, and Educational Classes Attended; Correspondence or 
Individual Study Programs; and Speaker, Discussion Leader or Instructor.  Each category has been annotated with applicable 
information from the rules to assist you in completion of the categories.  Summary totals from these three categories should 
be entered on the front side of the form in the subsection entitled CPE earned by Alabama standards. 

The section entitled CPE claimed by reciprocity has been included to implement the CPE Reciprocity agreements 
between the Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee Boards of Public 
Accountancy.  This portion of the form is applicable only to Alabama CPAs who hold valid CPA certificates issued by those 
states and are domiciled in or whose principal office is in the issuing state. If applicable to you, fill in your Kansas, Kentucky, 
Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, or Tennessee CPA Certificate number on the blank provided and check the 
box next to the appropriate state.  If you are eligible to claim CPE by reciprocity, you are not required to complete the 
subsection entitled CPE earned by Alabama standards or detail your CPE courses on the reverse side of the form. 

Board rules related to earning and reporting CPE can be found at www.asbpa.alabama.gov 

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIPS:  Sole proprietorships are defined as a firm in Section 34‐1‐2 of the Code of Alabama 1975.  If you are 
practicing as a sole proprietorship, you must register annually as an individual CPA or PA and as a firm.  If you are practicing as 
a sole proprietorship or have created a new firm of another type and such firm is not currently registered with the Board, it is 
your responsibility to contact the Board office, register the firm, and obtain a firm permit to practice for 2018‐2019. 

ADDRESS CHANGES:  Board rules require that you notify us in writing within 30 days of any change of address and/or change in 
your business affiliation.  Such changes can be either mailed or faxed (334‐242‐2711) to the Board office.  There is also an on‐
line change of information form at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov. 

OTHER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS:  In addition to registering with the Board, Section 40‐12‐71 of the Code of Alabama 
1975 requires Certified Public Accountants engaged in the practice of public accounting to obtain an annual license ($25.00 
fee) at the office of the county probate judge or other county licensing agency.  Details of this law may be found at 
www.asbpa.alabama.gov. 
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2018–2019 REGISTRATION FORM 
ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY 

PO BOX 300375 
MONTGOMERY, AL  36130-0375 

Phone: 334-242-5700  ~  Web Site: www.asbpa.alabama.gov 
DUE:  OCTOBER 1, 2018  ~  DELINQUENT:  JANUARY 1, 2019  

Registration Fees:    Active - $100.00  Inactive - $50.00  Retired (must be age 55) – No Fee
Submit the completed form along with your annual registration fee to the address above.  Please submit a copy of legal documentation with all name 
changes.  You must notify the Board of any changes in address and employment information within 30 days of change. 
To register on-line using a credit card, go to the Board’s web site listed above. 
CONTACT INFORMATION:  All fields are mandatory. (Area Below for Board Use)

 CPA or  PA  Cert #:  SSN:  last 4-digits only DOB          /       / 

Full Name: 
First      Middle         Last           Suffix 

Preferred Address:            Home or  Work

Street:  

City, State, Zip: 

Preferred Phone:  Home,  Work or  Cell 

Alternate Address:             Home or  Work

Street:  

City, State, Zip: 

Alternate Phone:  Home,  Work or  Cell 

Email:  

Current Firm / Employer Name:  

Job Title: 

ACTIVE IRS Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN): P ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ 

ASBPA Firm Name:    

CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE) REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2018 
Summary of CPE earned by Alabama standards            Must complete CPE Reporting Detail Form (page 3) 

1. Education Programs Attended (Live classes) Hours 
2. Formal Correspondence or Individual Study (Self-Study) Programs (Maximum 20 hours allowed) Hours 
3. Speaker, Discussion Leader, or Instructor Programs Hours 
4. Total Accounting & Auditing hours included above   ______ (Minimum of 8 hours required)

TOTAL CPE CLAIMED Hours 

If you are registering as “Active,” you must list your CPE courses on page 3 of this form.  You are required to report 40 hours of CPE each fiscal year.  At least 8 of those 
hours MUST be Accounting and Auditing.  CPE hours must be earned between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018.  There is no provision for carryover of CPE hours.  
No CPE hours are required this reporting period for CPAs/PAs certified and/or licensed after October 1, 2017. 

CPE CLAIMED BY RECIPROCITY: 
Active Alabama CPAs/PAs domiciled in or whose principal office is in Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, or 
Tennessee may satisfy CPE requirements by providing the following information:   
CPA Certificate No. ____________________ issued by the state of     KS      KY      MS      NC      NV      SC      TN 

*UPDATED IMPORTANT PAYMENT INFORMATION:  To avoid paying a late renewal penalty, registration forms must be postmarked on or before 
December 31, 2018.  Registration renewals received with a postmark after this date is subject to a late renewal penalty.  The late renewal penalty is $100.00 for renewals 
postmarked from January 1, 2019 through February 28, 2019; $500.00 for renewals postmarked on or after March 1, 2019; on April 1, 2019 disciplinary actions ensue for 
unpaid fees and penalties. 

Page 1 of 3 
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DR _____________________                     DP ________________ 

RF ________________    LRP _______________    TR ____________ 

NOTES: 



2018–2019 REGISTRATION FORM  
 

SELF REPORTING INFORMATION  
 

 
DIRECTIONS:  For the period of October 1, 2017 through September 30, 2018 please read and answer each 
of the following questions carefully.  For each YES answer, attach a separate sheet with a thorough 
explanation and include appropriate documentation such as related complaints, pleadings, judgments, 
orders, and settlement agreements.  Please check a YES or NO response for each question. 

YES NO 

1. Have you been charged with, convicted of or pled nolo contendre or have an order of deferred 
prosecution entered involving any 1) felony or 2) a misdemeanor if an essential element of the 
offense is dishonesty, deceit or fraud, in any state or federal court not previously reported to the 
Board? 

  

2. Have you been or are you currently a defendant in any type of civil or administrative action related 
to the practice of public accounting, or in which allegations of accounting violations, dishonesty, 
fraud, misrepresentation, or breach of fiduciary have been made? 

  

3. Have you had your license, certification, registration, membership, or authority to practice as a 
CPA/PA denied, placed on probation, suspended, revoked, censured, reprimanded, sanctioned, civil 
penalty, fine, modification of a license, disciplined, or otherwise restricted (other than failure to pay 
license or registration fee) by the IRS, SEC, or any other federal or state agency not previously 
reported to the Board? 

  

4. Have you had an award or judgment of $150,000 or more against you based on a claim of or action 
for gross negligence, violation of a specific standard of practice, fraud, or misappropriation of 
money in the practice of public accounting? 

  

5. Have you voluntarily surrendered, allowed to lapse, canceled, or resigned your license, certificate, 
registration, membership, or authority to practice as a CPA/PA in lieu of disciplinary proceeding, or 
sanctions of any kind by any other state or foreign country not previously reported to the Board? 

  

 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury that all statements and information contained herein are true, accurate and correct in every respect, to 
the best of my knowledge and belief; and that I have not suppressed any information that might affect my renewal, with full knowledge 
that the information submitted in this renewal may be grounds for disciplinary action against my certificate. 
 
 
REQUIRED SIGNATURE:   ________________________________________________                        DATE:   _______________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Page 2 of 3 / CPA/PA / Revised 7-16-2018 



 
2018–2019 REGISTRATION FORM 

 
CPE REPORTING DETAIL FORM  

 
Directions:  Complete the details for the programs or courses in which you participated as an attendee or student; took formal self-study programs; or 
were a speaker, discussion leader or instructor.  A minimum of 8 hours in Accounting and Auditing is required. A maximum of 8 hours in Behavioral 
courses will be applied toward the 40-hour requirement.  All courses must be at least 1 hour in length.   The month, day(s), and year must be shown in 
the Date columns.  Courses must fall within the time shown on the front of this form.  Courses listed on attachments must show clearly the category and 
a total per category.  Forms that have incorrect or incomplete information may be returned for correction, thus delaying your registration. 
CPE Credit: One university/college semester credit hour equals 15 CPE hours 
 One university/college quarter credit hour equals 10 CPE hours 
 CPE is based on a 50-minute hour; round down to the nearest half-hour 
 A 6-hour program in one day equals 8 CPE hours 
Board rules relating to earning and reporting CPE can be found at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov 
 
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS, SEMINARS, LIVE WEBINARS, and EDUCATIONAL CLASSES ATTENDED: 

School, Firm or Organization Location of Title of Program or Principal    Dates Attended       Total Hours     A&A 
      Conducting Program Program Description of Content Instructor      MM/DD(s)/YYYY        Claimed      Hours 
       

       

       

       

       

       

 
 TOTAL       ______      ______ 
FORMAL CORRESPONDENCE OR INDIVIDUAL STUDY PROGRAMS (Self-Study): 
Credit may be claimed on the equivalency of the program to a comparable seminar or a comparable course for credit at an accredited education institution. 
A maximum of 20 hours may be claimed for courses completed within the CPE reporting period.  All courses must be at least 1 hour in length.   
 School or Organization Providing Program Title or Date Completed       Total Hours    A&A 
 or Sponsoring the Program Description of Content MM/DD/YYYY       Claimed    Hours 

     

     

     

     

 
 TOTAL     _______    _______ 
SPEAKER, DISCUSSION LEADER OR INSTRUCTOR: 
Use this section only to report CPE when you were the speaker, discussion leader, or instructor. Credit may be claimed equal to twice the number of actual hours of the 
session to allow for preparation and presentation time. 
   Program Title or Dates of Program           Total Hours      A&A 
 Sponsor of Program Location of Program Description of Content MM/DD(s)/YYYY           Claimed        Hours 

      

      

      

      

 
 TOTAL        ______      _______ 
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