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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 2015‐2016 REGISTRATION FORM AND 

CPE REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 
 

Applicable changes in Board laws and rules have been incorporated into these instructions;  
You are encouraged to read all instructions since there are several changes. 

 
ANNUAL REGISTRATION:  All Alabama CPAs and PAs are required by the Alabama Accountancy Law (Title 34, Chapter 1, Code 
of Alabama 1975) to register annually with the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (“the Board”).  The only exception 
is for licensees who have elected retired status previously.  The link to the on‐line registration form can be found on the 
Board’s website at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/registration.aspx.  Instructions for on‐line registration are provided at 
every step.  American Express, MasterCard and Visa are the only credit cards that can be used for on‐line payment!  If 
registration is done through the internet‐based procedure, the paper form should NOT be mailed to the Board.  Do not 
register on‐line if this is your initial registration.  Please print the registration form and mail it with the appropriate 
registration fee.  If you choose to register manually, you may download the 2015‐2016 Registration Form, complete it, and 
return with a check payable to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy in the amount of $75.00 for active status or 
$50.00 for inactive status. 

Active Status.  CPAs and PAs practicing public accounting in Alabama must obtain an annual permit to practice (active 
status).  The experience required to qualify initially for a permit to practice is one year of public accounting or two years in a 
qualifying accounting position in industry, business, government or college teaching.  Your experience must be verified in 
writing and sent to the Board office by your employer(s).  Upon completion and verification of the required experience, you 
may apply for your initial permit to practice.  A $75.00 fee for an annual permit to practice, whether initial or renewal must be 
submitted to the Board along with the 2015‐2016 Registration Form.  Continuing Professional Education (CPE) is required for 
active status and must be reported on the 2015‐2016 Registration Form in the section entitled “Continuing Professional 
Education (CPE) Reporting for the Fiscal Year Ended September 30, 2015.”  Further details on reporting CPE are on the reverse 
side of these instructions. 

Inactive Status.  CPAs and PAs who do not desire an annual permit to practice public accounting (those electing 
inactive status) or those who are otherwise ineligible for an annual permit must also register with the Board annually.  A 
$50.00 fee is required along with the 2015‐2016 Annual Registration Form for inactive status.  CPAs and PAs who are on 
inactive status must place the word “inactive” adjacent to their CPA or PA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other 
document or device, except for their CPA or PA certificate, on which their CPA or PA title appears.  If a CPA or PA on inactive 
status desires to return to active status, he or she must apply for an annual permit to practice with proof that 40 hours of CPE 
were obtained for each fiscal year of inactive status, not to exceed 120 hours of CPE.  Fifty percent of the hours must be in 
accounting and auditing courses; 25 percent of the hours must be in tax courses; and all of the hours must be obtained during 
the three‐year period preceding the date of the request for an annual permit to practice.  No more than one‐half of the hours 
can be in self‐study courses. A CPE catch‐up form can be found at www.asbpa.alabama.gov/registration.aspx. 

Retired Status.  CPAs and PAs who are eligible may elect retired status on the 2015‐2016 Registration Form with no fee 
requirement.  Retired status is defined as a licensee who has reached age 55 and is no longer performing any of the duties of 
public accounting. 

The 2015‐2016 registration and appropriate fee are due in the Board office on October 1, 2015; however, the rules do 
provide a grace period for filing timely through December 31, 2015.  This grace period applies only to submission of the 
completed registrations.  CPE must be earned during the fiscal year and completed by September 30, 2015.  Please note that 
only the last four digits of your Social Security number are required.  All manually completed registration forms and fees should 
be mailed to the Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy, PO Box 300375, Montgomery, Alabama 36130‐0375.  
 



DELINQUENT STATUS:  Registrations submitted online or postmarked after December 31, 2015 are considered delinquent.  A 
$100.00 penalty is due for registrations submitted from January 1, 2016 through March 31, 2016.  The penalty increases to 
$500.00 for registrations submitted April 1, 2016 through September 30, 2016.  After that date, disciplinary actions ensue for 
unpaid fees and penalties; therefore, you are encouraged to file as near the October 1, 2015 due date as possible. 
  
IRS PREPARER TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (PTIN):  Please input your PTIN. 
 
ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY (ASBPA) FIRM NAME:  Please provide your firm name. 
 
CPE REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2015:  Alabama CPAs and PAs who hold an annual permit to 
practice (active status) must complete 40 hours of acceptable CPE during the fiscal year that began on October 1, 2014 and 
ended on September 30, 2015.  At least eight hours must be in accounting and auditing, and no more than eight hours in 
behavioral courses will be accepted.  Other maximum limits include 20 hours a year for self‐study, 10 hours for publications 
authored, and eight hours for technical sessions at professional meetings.  CPE hours may not be carried over.  CPE completion 
records should be retained for a minimum of five fiscal years.  No CPE hours are required this reporting period for CPAs 
certified and/or licensed after October 1, 2014.  If you cannot meet the CPE requirements by September 30, 2015, due to 
reasonable cause, please contact the Board office to formalize a CPE completion schedule. 

There are three categories for detailing the CPE that you completed for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2015: 
Professional Development Programs, Seminars, and Educational Classes Attended; Correspondence or Individual Study 
Programs; and Speaker, Discussion Leader or Instructor.  Each category has been annotated with applicable information from 
the rules to assist you in completion of the categories.  Summary totals from these three categories should be entered on the 
front side of the form in the subsection entitled CPE earned by Alabama standards. 

The section entitled CPE claimed by reciprocity has been included to implement the CPE Reciprocity agreements 
between the Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee Boards of Public 
Accountancy.  This portion of the form is applicable only to Alabama CPAs who hold valid CPA certificates issued by those 
states and are domiciled in or whose principal office is located in the issuing state. If applicable to you, fill in your Kansas, 
Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, or Tennessee CPA Certificate number on the blank provided and 
check the box next to the appropriate state.  If you are eligible to claim CPE by reciprocity, you are not required to complete 
the subsection entitled CPE earned by Alabama standards or detail your CPE courses on the reverse side of the form. 
 

Board rules related to earning and reporting CPE can be found at  
www.asbpa.alabama.gov/rules.aspx 

 
SOLE PROPRIETORSHIPS:  Sole proprietorships are defined as a firm in Section 34‐1‐2 or the Code of Alabama 1975.  If you are 
practicing as a sole proprietorship, you must register annually as an individual CPA or PA and as a firm.  If you are practicing as 
a sole proprietorship or have created a new firm of another type and such firm is not currently registered with the Board, it is 
your responsibility to contact the Board office, register the firm, and obtain a firm permit to practice for 2015‐2016. 
 
ADDRESS CHANGES:  Board rules require that you notify us in writing within 30 days of any change of address and/or change in 
your business affiliation.  Such changes can be either mailed or faxed (334‐242‐2711) to the Board office.  There is also an on‐
line change of information form at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/infochangeCPA.aspx. 
 
OTHER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS:  In addition to registering with the Board, Section 40‐12‐71 of the Code of Alabama 
1975 requires Certified Public Accountants engaged in the practice of public accounting to obtain an annual license ($25.00 
fee) at the office of the county probate judge or other county licensing agency.  Details of this law may be found at 
www.asbpa.alabama.gov/laws.aspx. 



2015–2016 REGISTRATION FORM  
ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY 

  PO BOX 300375 
  MONTGOMERY, AL  36130‐0375 
  Phone: 334‐242‐5700  ~  Web Site: www.asbpa.alabama.gov 

  DUE OCTOBER 1, 2015                     
Registration Fees:                Active ‐ $75                       Inactive ‐ $50                       Retired (must be age 55) – No Fee 

Submit the completed form along with your annual registration fee to the address above.  Please submit a copy of legal documentation with all 
name changes.  You must notify the Board of any changes in address and employment information within 30 days of change.  To register on‐line 
using a credit card, go to http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/registration.aspx. 

Type:   CPA or PA     Date Certified: ____ / ____ / _____  

Certificate #:  _____________  Date of Birth:  ____ / ____ / _____   

SSN:   XXX – XX ‐ ______         

Name:  ____________________________________________________________________________________________   

Preferred  _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

   Address:  _______________________________________________________________________________________   

Pref Phone:  _________________________________________ 
The information shown above for the Preferred Address is my ______ HOME or ______ WORK address 

Alternate  _______________________________________________________________________________________   

   Address:  _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Alt Phone:  ______________________________________________  
The information shown for the Alternate Address is my _______ HOME or ______ WORK address  

Email:  ______________________________________________   

Fax Number:  ______________________________________________ 

Employer:  ________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Job Capacity:  ________________________________________________________________________________________   

Do you have an IRS Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN):   NO   or   YES      If Yes, provide IRS PTIN: _______________ 
What is your ASBPA Firm Name:  _______________ 

IMPORTANT PAYMENT INFORMATION:  To avoid paying a late penalty, registration forms must be postmarked on or before December 31, 2015.  Registration 
renewals received with a postmark after this date is subject to a late renewal penalty.  The penalty is $100 for renewals postmarked from January 1, 2016, through 
March 31, 2016.  The penalty is $500 for renewals postmarked on or after April 1, 2016.  After September 30, 2016, disciplinary hearings will be held. 

CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE) REPORTING FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 

CPE earned by Alabama standards: 

1.  Education Programs Attended    Hours 

2.  Correspondence or Individual Study Programs (Maximum 20 hours allowed)    Hours 

3.  Speaker, Discussion Leader, or Instructor    Hours 

4.  Accounting and Auditing hours included above   ______ (Minimum of 8 hours required)     

  TOTAL CPE CLAIMED    Hours 
 

If you are registering as “Active,” you must list your CPE courses on the reverse side of this form.  You are required to report 40 hours of CPE each fiscal year.  At least 
8 of  those hours MUST be Accounting and Auditing.   CPE hours must be earned between October 1, 2014 and September 30, 2015.   There  is no provision  for 
carryover of CPE hours.  No CPE hours are required this reporting period for CPAs certified and/or licensed after October 1, 2014. 

CPE CLAIMED BY RECIPROCITY: 

Active Alabama CPAs domiciled in or whose principal office is located in Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, or 
Tennessee may satisfy CPE requirements by providing the following information:   

CPA Certificate No. ____________________ issued by the state of     KS      KY      MS      NC      NV      SC      TN 

I certify under penalty of perjury that all representations made on this form are true and accurate and that I have not been 
convicted of any felony during the time period from October 1, 2014, through the date below. 
 
REQUIRED SIGNATURE:     DATE:      

 
 

 
  
 

 

ASBPA USE ONLY 

DR   DP _________________ 
 
RF ___________  LRP ____________  TR _____________ 
 
NOTES: 



 
CPE COURSES 

 
Directions:  Complete the details for the programs or courses in which you participated as an attendee or student; took formal self‐study programs; 
or were a speaker, discussion leader or instructor.  A minimum of 8 hours in Accounting and Auditing is required. A maximum of 8 hours in 
Behavioral courses will be applied toward the 40‐hour requirement.  The month, day(s), and year must be shown in the Date columns.  Courses 
must fall within the time period shown on the front of this form.  Courses listed on attachments must show clearly the category and a total per 
category.  Forms that have incorrect or incomplete information may be returned for correction, thus delaying your registration. 
CPE Credit:  One university/college semester credit hour equals 15 CPE hours 
  One university/college quarter credit hour equals 10 CPE hours 
  CPE is based on a 50‐minute hour; round down to the nearest half‐hour 
  A 6‐hour program in one day equals 8 CPE hours 
 
Board rules relating to earning and reporting CPE can be found at http://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/rules.aspx 
 
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS, SEMINARS, LIVE WEBINARS, and EDUCATIONAL CLASSES ATTENDED: 

School, Firm or Organization  Location of  Title of Program or  Principal  Dates Attended  Total Hours  A&A 
  Conducting Program  Program  Description of Content  Instructor  MM/DD(s)/YYYY  Claimed  Hours 

             

             

             

             

             

             

 

  TOTAL  ______  ______ 
CORRESPONDENCE OR INDIVIDUAL STUDY PROGRAMS: 

Credit may be claimed on the equivalency of the program to a comparable seminar or a comparable course for credit at an accredited education institution. 
A maximum of 20 hours may be claimed for courses completed within the CPE reporting period. 
   
  School or Organization Providing  Program Title or  Date Completed  Total Hours  A&A 
  or Sponsoring the Program  Description of Content  MM/DD/YYYY  Claimed  Hours 

   

   

   

   

 

  TOTAL  ______  ______ 
SPEAKER, DISCUSSION LEADER OR INSTRUCTOR: 

Use this section only to report CPE when you were the speaker, discussion leader, or instructor. Credit may be claimed equal to twice the number of actual hours of 
the session to allow for preparation and presentation time. 
      Program Title or  Dates of Program  Total Hours  A&A 
  Sponsor of Program  Location of Program  Description of Content  MM/DD(s)/YYYY  Claimed  Hours 

   

   

   

   

 

  TOTAL  ______  ______ 
ASBPA Revised 7‐29‐15 
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